The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) is an association of 1,281 institutions, conferences, organizations and individuals that organizes the athletic programs of many colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. The NCAA is headquartered in Indianapolis, Indiana.

In August 1973, the NCAA adopted the three-division setup of Division I, Division II and Division III by their members. According to NCAA rules, Division I and Division II schools can offer student-athletes scholarships to participate in a sport. Division III schools can not offer any athletic scholarships.

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) is an athletic association whose members consist of smaller colleges and universities across the United States and Canada. At one point the NAIA even had one member from the Bahamas, which made it the only international intercollegiate athletic association in North America until 2009. For the 2010-11 academic year, the NAIA has 290 member institutions. NAIA schools can offer athletic scholarships.

The NAIA is headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. The NAIA sponsors 23 national championships. The CBS College Sports Network, formerly called CSTV, serves as the national media for the NAIA.